Longing

I like winter as much as the next guy, but there’s winter…and then there’s winter. A couple of inches of snow around Christmas is one thing. Siberia is another. Where I live, it’s snowing…again. And the low tomorrow is supposed to be -15. And no, that doesn’t factor in windchll.

As I heard the weather forecast this morning on my drive into the office, I couldn’t help but pray. I thanked God for the seasons and then said “but I really long for spring.” And then it hit me. If the challenges of winter intensify our longing for the deliverance of spring, how much more do the challenges of life…the wintry seasons of our souls…intensify our longing for the deliverance of Jesus?

As we all know, this life is filled with difficulties and challenges. And, many of these testify to the brokenness and corruption brought on by sin. Yet, there is a coming day when the last vestiges of sin’s power will be destroyed. Jesus is coming to right every wrong, reclaim those that are His, and restore and renew all that is. Sickness and death will be a thing of the past. Evil will be no more. Heartache and heartbreak will be gone forever. It may be winter now, but there’s an eternal spring coming. Long for it.

“He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming soon.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!” (Revelation 22:20, ESV)

Leave a Reply

