Not Forgotten

My memory’s not what it used to be. It’s still pretty good, but it used to be really good. I used to be able to remember almost anything I wanted. I actually had a friend in college suggest I had a photographic memory (I didn’t, and my wife can attest to that). I still remember most things, but I’ve found I’m slipping. I don’t know if it’s age, a lack of attention, mental overload, stress or something else (or a combination of all of these), but I just don’t remember things like I used to.

Sometimes it’s easy to wonder if maybe God’s memory is slipping a bit too. We wonder if He’s forgotten us. Maybe He’s so distracted with the big stuff in the world He’s overlooked our little lives. Maybe He really meant to work in our situation, but it’s slipped His mind. So much for a big God to do in a really busy cosmos. Maybe all the important stuff He has to do has just pushed us right out of His mind. I mean after all, others have forgotten us. Maybe God has too.

I can’t help but think of the Old Testament character Joseph. After an array of troubles, he finds himself in a dungeon in Egypt. He’s been betrayed by his brothers, accused by his master’s wife, and abandoned by a man for whom he worked diligently. And, then in this dungeon, he helps out a cellmate by interpreting a dream for him. All he asks in return is that the man tell Pharaoh of Joseph’s plight. The Bible tells us that the man “did not remember Joseph, but forgot Him” (Genesis 40:23). Days turn into weeks, weeks into months, and months into years. And Joseph is still sitting in that dungeon.

Forgotten yet again, it would have been easy for Joseph to add God to the list of people who had pushed him out of their minds. Yet he doesn’t. Instead, he manages to hold onto the hope that he’s not forgotten by God. Why? Because he knew that God hadn’t forgotten him. Others might have, but God had not. He was still firmly on the mind of the God who had created him and been with him through every one of his trials and tribulations.

You may feel forgotten and I may feel forgotten, but let me assure you (and me) that God has not forgotten us. He knows who we are, where we are, and what we are going through. He is still working in the midst of even the most challenging circumstances of our lives. He is unfolding His purpose for us and this world in accordance with His timetable. He knows what He’s doing. His memory is every bit as good as it has been since the dawn of time. He is as sharp as ever…and He’s not forgotten you. Remember that, because He remembers you.

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows. (Luke 12:6-7 ESV)

Leave a Reply

