Clarity

csb_logo-300x143Clarity is important. When we read something that has life-changing implications, we want it to be clear. We want to be able to understand what’s being said, and how those words impact our lives. We want to be able to share them with the people around us, and be certain that those words are clear to them as well.

I was reminded of this the other day while reading the book of Nehemiah. In Nehemiah 8, the people gathered at the city gates to listen to the reading of God’s Word. As Ezra the priest read the Scripture, people moved about the crowd helping the masses understand what was being read. Why? Because clarity is important.

Through the years, I have used a variety of Bible translations. I have read, preached, and taught from most of the more popular translations. And, even though I settled on a teaching translation for me a few years ago, I continue to struggle with how to help people find the best translation for them. I want something for them that is both accurate and clear, and sometimes the translations that I love are more of the former than the latter. I want the text they read to be true to the text, but I also want it to be understandable.

Thankfully, I can now encourage people to look at the Christian Standard Bible. The CSB is both clear and accurate. When the previews debuted a few weeks ago, my teenage son (who’s a fairly accomplished reader) and I began reading through the gospel of Mark together. And, while I was struck by what I read, I was more struck by what he said about what he read. He immediately commented how much more clear and understandable the text was, and how much more he enjoyed it than the Bible he had been reading. That was big for me. And, in the weeks since, I have only continued to grow more impressed by the translation. It is without a doubt where I would point someone seeking to buy a Bible.

I am reading the CSB devotionally this year. I am also preaching and teaching from the CSB for the next month or so. I’m primarily doing this to expose our church family to the translation. To be honest, I haven’t decided whether I’ll switch my preaching translation permanently (partly because I changed texts a few years ago), but I am really tempted to make that transition.

So, check out the Christian Standard Bible. You can read more about it at csbible.com. You can read the text there as well. In addition, there are apps for both Android and iOS devices, and more digital options become available all the time. You can also find print copies in Christian bookstores and various online retailers.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

